Title: The Territory of American Samoa

Population: 46,366

Population Change: -0.22

National Average Age:

Urban Percentage: 88

Christian Population: 70,000

Christian Percentage: 98.3

Introduction: 'American Samoa is a U.S. territory covering 7 South Pacific islands and atolls. Tutuila the largest island is home to the capital Pago Pago whose natural harbor is framed by volcanic peaks including 1716-ft.-high Rainmaker Mountain. Divided between the islands Tutuila Ofu and Ta‘ū the National Park of American Samoa highlights the territory''s tropical scenery with rainforests beaches and reefs.'

Overview: Settled as early as 1000 B.C. Samoa was not reached by European explorers until the 18th century. International rivalries in the latter half of the 19th century were settled by an 1899 treaty in which Germany and the US divided the Samoan archipelago. The US formally occupied its portion - a smaller group of eastern islands with the excellent harbor of Pago Pago - the following year.