Title: The Cayman Islands

Population: 63,131

Population Change: 1.19

National Average Age:

Urban Percentage: 97

Christian Population: 42,000

Christian Percentage: 73.8

Introduction: The Cayman Islands a British Overseas Territory encompasses 3 islands in the western Caribbean Sea. Grand Cayman the largest island is known for its beach resorts and varied scuba diving and snorkelling sites. Cayman Brac is a popular launch point for deep-sea fishing excursions. Little Cayman the smallest island is home to diverse wildlife from endangered iguanas to seabirds such as red-footed boobies.

Overview: The Cayman Islands were colonized from Jamaica by the British during the 18th and 19th centuries and were administered by Jamaica after 1863. In 1959 the islands became a territory within the Federation of the West Indies. When the Federation dissolved in 1962 the Cayman Islands chose to remain a British dependency.