Title: The Grand Duchy of Luxembourg

Population: 639,589

Population Change: 1.66

National Average Age: 40

Urban Percentage: 88

Christian Population: 360,000

Christian Percentage: 72.4

Introduction: Luxembourg is a small European country surrounded by Belgium France and Germany. It’s mostly rural with dense Ardennes forest and nature parks in the north rocky gorges of the Mullerthal region in the east and the Moselle river valley in the southeast. Its capital Luxembourg City is famed for its fortified medieval old town perched on sheer cliffs.

Overview: Founded in 963 Luxembourg became a grand duchy in 1815 and an independent state under the Netherlands. It lost more than half of its territory to Belgium in 1839 but gained a larger measure of autonomy. Full independence was attained in 1867. Overrun by Germany in both world wars it ended its neutrality in 1948 when it entered into the Benelux Customs Union and when it joined NATO the following year. In 1957 Luxembourg became one of the six founding countries of the EEC (later the EU) and in 1999 it joined the euro currency area.