Title: French Southern and Antarctic Lands

Population: 300

Population Change:

National Average Age:

Urban Percentage:

Christian Population: 0

Christian Percentage:

Introduction: The French Southern and Antarctic Lands is an overseas territory of France. It consists of: Kerguelen Islands a group of volcanic islands in the southern Indian Ocean southeast of Africa approximately

Overview: In February 2007 the Iles Eparses became an integral part of the French Southern and Antarctic Lands (TAAF). The Southern Lands are now divided into five administrative districts two of which are archipelagos Iles Crozet and Iles Kerguelen; the third is a district composed of two volcanic islands Ile Saint-Paul and Ile Amsterdam; the fourth Iles Eparses consists of five scattered tropical islands around Madagascar. They contain no permanent inhabitants and are visited only by researchers studying the native fauna scientists at the various scientific stations fishermen and military personnel. The fifth district is the Antarctic portion which consists of \"Adelie Land\" a thin slice of the Antarctic continent discovered and claimed by the French in 1840.