Title: The Territory of the Wallis and Futuna Islands

Population: 15,851

Population Change: -1.69

National Average Age:

Urban Percentage: 0

Christian Population: 0

Christian Percentage:

Introduction: Wallis and Futuna officially the Territory of the Wallis and Futuna Islands is a French island collectivity in the South Pacific between Tuvalu to the northwest Fiji to the southwest Tonga to the southeast Samoa to the east and Tokelau to the northeast. Though both French and Polynesian Wallis and Futuna is distinct from the entity known as French Polynesia.

Overview: The Futuna island group was discovered by the Dutch in 1616 and Wallis by the British in 1767 but it was the French who declared a protectorate over the islands in 1842 and took official control of them between 1886 and 1888. Notably Wallis and Futuna was the only French colony to side with the Vichy regime during World War II a phase that ended in May of 1942 with the arrival of 2000 American troops. In 1959 the inhabitants of the islands voted to become a French overseas territory and officially assumed this status in July 1961.