Kikongo aka Kongo
Native toAncient Kingdom of Kongo prior to the creation of Angola by the Portuguese Crown in 1575 and the Berlin Conference (1884-1885) that balkanized the rest of the Kingdom of Kongo into three territories that are now parts of the DRC (Kongo Central and Bandundu), Angola, the Republic of the Congo and Gabon.
Ethnicity"Bisi Kongo" (plural) and "Mwisi Kongo" (singular) prior to the Berlin Conference and then "Bakongo" (pl.) and "Mukongo" (sing.) after that;[1] thus we have Bakongo from Angola, the DRC, the Republic of the Congo and Gabon.
Native speakers
(c. 6.5 million cited 1982–2012)[3]
5 million L2 speakers in DRC (perhaps Kituba)
Latin, Mandombe
Official status
Official language in
National language and unofficial language:
Non-national language and non-official language:
 Democratic Republic of Congo
 Republic of Congo
Recognised minority
language in
Language codes
ISO 639-1kg
ISO 639-2kon
ISO 639-3kon – inclusive code
Individual codes:
kng – Koongo
ldi – Laari
kwy – San Salvador Kongo (South)
yom – Yombe[2]
Glottologcore1256  Core Kikongo; incl. Kituba & ex-Kongo varieties
yomb1244  Yombe
Map of the area where Kongo and Kituba as the lingua franca are spoken. NB:[5][6][7] Kisikongo (also called Kisansala by some authors) is the Kikongo spoken in Mbanza Kongo. Kisikongo is not the mother language that carries the Kongo (i.e. Kikongo) Language Cluster.
Type Date Title Vernacular ID Links Language